MUNICIPAL GENERAL/BYE ELECTIONS

PRESS NOTE

Panchkula, the 9th May, 2013: Sh.Dharam Vir, State Election Commissioner, Haryana stated that the programme for the General Election of Municipal Corporations, Ambala, Panchkula, Karnal, Panipat, Hisar, Rohtak and Yamuna Nagar, Municipal Committee, Kalanaur (Rohtak) and Farukh Nagar (Gurgaon), bye elections in Ward No.3 of Municipal Council Narwana, District Jind and Ward No.7 of Municipal Committee Gharaunda, Distt. Karnal has been issued today. The Election programme to the above said Municipal Corporations/Council/Committees is as under:-

Notifications of election programme has been issued on 09/05/2013

(1)	Date on which notice shall be published by the Returning Officer for inviting nominations.	10/05/2013 (Friday)			
(2)	Dates on which Nomination papers shall be presented.	16/05/2013 (Thursday) to 21/05/2013 (Tuesday) 11.00 A.M. to 3.00 P.M			
(3)	Dates on which the list of nomination papers received shall be posted	16/05/2013 (Thursday) to 21/05/2013 (Tuesday)			
(4)	Date by which information shall be furnished by the candidate in the format prescribed, to the concerned Returning Officer that he is not suffering from any disqualification.	22/05/2013 (Wednesday) Before 11.00 A.M.			
(5)	Date on which the nomination papers shall be scrutinized	22/05/2013 (Wednesday) 11.30 A.M. onwards.			
(6)	Last date for withdrawal of candidature by a candidate	23/05/2013 (Thursday) Between 11.00 A.M and 3.00 P.M.			
(7)	Date on which symbol shall be allotted to the contesting candidate	23/05/2013 (Thursday) after 3.00 PM			
(8)	Date on which the list of contesting candidates shall be posted	23/05/2013 (Thursday)			
(9)	Date on which list of polling stations shall be posted	23/05/2013 (Thursday)			
(10)	Date on which the Poll, if any, shall be held	02/06/2013 (Sunday).			
(11)	Timing of the Poll.	Between 8.00 A.M. and 5.00 P.M.			
(12)	Date, Time and place on which the votes polled shall be counted.	04.06.2013 From 8.00 A.M. onwards in the case of Municipal Corporations and in case of Municipal Committees the counting would take place on 02.06.2013 after the close of poll			
(13)	Date on which the election result would be declared.	Immediately after the completion of counting .			

- 2. Sh. Dharam Vir further stated that all elections shall be conducted with EVMs.
- 3. The details of total wards and reservation of Municipal Corporation is given as under:

Sr.No	Name of Municipal	Total	Reservation				Unreserved	
	Corporation	no. of						
		wards						
			SC	SC(W)	BC	Women	Total	
1.	Ambala	20	2	1	1	6	11	9
2.	Karnal	20	2	1	1	6	11	9
3.	Panipat	24	2	2	2	6	12	12
4.	Panchkula	20	2	1	1	6	11	9
5.	Hisar	20	2	1	1	6	11	9
6.	Rohtak	20	2	1	1	6	11	9
7.	Yamuna Nagar	20	2	1	1	6	11	9
	Total	144	14	8	14	42	78	66

The detail of total number of voters and polling stations of Municipal Corporation is as under:

Sr.No.	Name of Municipal	Total voters	Total no. of Polling
	Corporation		Stations
1.	Ambala	2,71,998	275
2.	Karnal	2,08,794	206
3.	Panipat	2,64,365	234
4.	Panchkula	2,30,119	230
5.	Hisar	2,09,731	196
6.	Rohtak	2,58,749	238
7.	Yamuna Nagar	2,59,809	246
	Total	17,03,565	1,625

The details of total wards and reservation of two Municipal Committees is given as under:

Sr.No	Name of Municipal	Total	Reservation					Unreserved
	Committee	no. of						
		wards						
			SC	SC(W)	BC	Women	Total	
1.	Kalanur (Rohtak)	15	4	2	2	3	11	4
2.	Farukh Nagar	13	2	2	2	3	09	4
	(Gurgaon)							
	Total	28	6	4	4	6	20	8

The detail of total number of voters and polling stations of two Municipal Committees is as under:

Sr.No.	Name of Municipal	Total voters	Total no. of Polling
	Committee		Stations
1.	Kalanur (Rohtak)	14,470	15
2.	Farukh Nagar (Gurgaon)	7,603	13
	Total	22,073	28

4. The electoral rolls of the above Municipal Corporations have been published on 05/04/2013 and hosted on the website of the Commission and the District Administration concerned. Any person can check his name on the website of the State Election Commission. For the first time, the Commission has put the information of polling stations using GIS technique. While checking his name, any person can check

his polling station where he has to go for poll, list of electors of the polling stations with photograph and without photograph can also be seen and downloaded.

- 6. Sh.Dharam Vir further stated that any person, whose name has not been included in the electoral rolls of Municipal Corporation/Committee finally published on 05/04/2013 and 30/03/2013 respectively, can apply to the Deputy Commissioner, concerned alongwith a fees of Rs.10/- in the case of Municipal Corporation and Rs.1/- in the case of Municipal Council/Committee, not later than four days from the date of publication of election programme.
- 7. Sh. Dharam Vir also stated that every elector will be given a voter slip giving detail of polling station etc. so that he/she may easily go to the polling station to cast his/her vote. He has further informed that one Election Observer and one expenditure observer for each Municipal Corporation and Committee would be appointed for the conduct of free and fair election.
- 8. Sh. Dharam Vir further stated that keeping in view criminalization of politics and that persons convicted by court of law for criminal offences are entering into the election fray and contesting elections, the State Election Commission had issued directions in compliance of the orders of the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India to the effect that a contesting candidate is required to submit in writing his criminal background if any, details of moveable/immoveable assets, educational qualification etc. Besides, he has also to submit with his nomination paper in the shape of affidavit that he is not suffering from any disqualification as provided in Section 13 A of the Haryana Municipal Act, 1973, Rule 21 of the Haryana Municipal Election Rules, 1978 and Section 8 of the Haryana Municipal Corporation Act, 1994, in respect of elections to Municipal Committee/ Corporation.
- 9. The Commission has enhanced the limit of the expenditure that may be incurred by a contesting candidate or his authorised election agents in connection with the election, to Rs.1,75,000/- for a member of Municipal Corporation, for the member of Municipal Council it is Rs.75,000/- and for the member of Municipal Committee it is Rs.50,000/-.
- 10. The contesting candidates are also required to maintain account of election expenditure and submit the same within 30 days from the date of declaration of the result of the election to the Deputy Commissioner or with any other officers specified by the Commission, failing which the defaulting candidate shall be liable to be disqualified under the Haryana Municipal Election Expenditure (Maintenance & Submission of the Accounts) Order, 2006 for 3 years from the date of issue of such order, Shri Dharam Vir added.
- 11. The Model code of conduct in the area of Municipal Corporation/Committee concerned shall come into force from today i.e. 09.05.2013. No Officer/Official connected with the election work shall be transferred till the completion of election process, he added.